Experiencing Istanbul, Chp 3: Something Witty About Mosques

Anyone who has entered Istanbul with little to no experience in a Muslim dominated country, such as myself, will notice the abundance of mosques in the city. Seriously, they are EVERYWHERE. And some of them are gorgeous. And the call to prayer is sweet, in my eyes at least… and it adds a certain entertainment factor when you hear the person on the microphone cough, or maybe I’m just childish.. And touching again on my inner stinginess (Seemingly the main theme of my time in Istanbul), almost all the mosques are free to enter! I only paid for one touristy thing in my 2 weeks there, and it wasn’t a mosque…

Anyway, I’m tired, and not feeling overly creative with words, so you will just have to look at the photos and guess what gold I would have written…

On The Outside

Just another spire thingy...

Inside the Blue Mosque

Oh, for anyone interested, I finally found a camera store here in Nairobi I trusted enough to try developing 7 rolls of film. Hopefully, tomorrow, I will have the last of my Istanbul film developed, and the first of my Kenyan film.

Hopefully

6 thoughts on “Experiencing Istanbul, Chp 3: Something Witty About Mosques

  1. Good luck with the developing. These photos are very interesting. Have never really been outside of the U.S. myself, so I very much enjoy you sharing these.

    • Cheers! Just got the film back, and happy to say that most of the photos worked out, they’ll be up soon. And hey, I’ve never been to USA.. Have heard amazing things about the landscapes there though

  2. That’s incredibly exciting, traveling like that. Everyone should live out of a backpack at some point – it shows how little you actually need. And beautiful shots! What kind of camera do you use?

    • Yeah, it’s a great eye opener. I have been living out of my pack for almost 18 months so far, and I don’t want to go back! Right now I’m shooting with a Minolta SRT-101 that I picked up in Skopje. Got a 50mm 1.7 and a 28mm 2.8, and usually run whichever film I can find the cheapest..

Leave a Reply

