West From Zanzibar

I was in Zanzibar a few weeks back, for the Sauti Za Busara music festival, with a large group of friends. Over the week there, I shot 12 rolls of film. One roll was misloaded, 2 rolls were lost, and another was developed wrong by the studio. While some photos were of the  music performances, most were shot around the streets. I still haven’t got everything developed, and I have been busy since, creating a backlog for myself. While there is plenty more, it will have to wait…

For now, here’s one. Wandering Stonetown one evening, I happened across an appropriately named “Soccer Beach”. I gathered the name from the graffiti at the entrance, and from the group of boys playing soccer on the beach. Obvious huh. Anyway, as the sun was setting, this dhow sailed between it and myself, allowing for a cliched photo opportunity.

3 thoughts on “West From Zanzibar

Leave a Reply

