TED visits Nairobi

I’m completely backlogged, and have too many awesome things happening lately, so forgive the potential lacklustre writing in spaces, I just want to get all the photos out… Deal with it. Anyway:

Sometimes things just fall into your lap when you aren’t expecting anything. You just need the right attitude, and to be ready for anything. Often I’m not ready for anything, and go into town for what is meant to be an afternoon before saying yes to a multiday trip somewhere without “necessities” like spare clothes, or a toothbrush.

While not as extreme as that situation, I did find myself in a position a few weeks back where I was in Nairobi central to meet some mates, who wouldn’t be there until later. I made some phone calls, and was told by my mates with the What Took You So Long Foundation, that they were shooting the TED Auditions at some fancy private school that night. If I had my camera they could pass me off as crew for the night Did I have my camera on me? Yes. So I decided against my other friends (photography always trumps dinner, especially with snacks on offer).

If you don’t know TED talks, they are, in my own words, a bunch of inspirational talks from people with innovative ideas, or outlooks, or just interesting things to say. They are worth a look of your own, because I don’t explain things well. Anyway, here’s some photos. The event also gave me my first real chance to test my new lens for the DSLR. So here’s results.

Oh, and I slept on another couch that night. No toothbrush, no spare clothes.

"I swear, it was THIS BIG!" Had to

The undercover journalist. Awesome

 

3 thoughts on “TED visits Nairobi

  1. Lucky!! I’ve always wanted to attend a TED talk! And while film as been magical, I think I need to drop it for a while. It’s becoming too financially burdensome to sustain – especially because I just spent 60 bucks to develop 10 rolls, and the number of photos I was extremely happy with was too low to justify continuing. It’s been an adventure, though!

    • Yeah I understand. Top tip: High school darkrooms… But even if you put it down, it’s still a good experience, and good to turn to on special occasions. I’ll be bringing b&w film to USA though… got too many visions of super grainy NY and LA stuff…

Leave a Reply

