Simple Plan, We The Kings, The Never Ever. Wollongong, Australia

Aside from seeing my younger brother for the first time in nearly two years, one of the main things I was looking forward to on my (brief) return to Australia was the opportunity to shoot some concerts back at my old venue. Before I graduated university and left home, I was shooting concerts most weeks at the University of Wollongong. Once I had booked tickets back here, I checked with the venue to see if there were any bands playing during my visit. Sure enough, Simple Plan was lined up. While I wouldn’t call myself a fan of their music, they are still a pretty big name, and as such, I was keen to have a shoot.

I was kind of also meant to cover Anti-Flag, and wish I did, but had certain reasons not to… which turned out to be the wrong decision, but such is life, and I won’t make that same mistake twice.. in the near future.

As for the concert, Simple Plan, from what I saw, appears to have a very teenage fanbase, most of whom were queued outside the venue an hour before doors opened. The bar was also closed off before the concert so I couldn’t get a beer before going in. Not happy. The opening band, The Never Ever, surprised me, with a ridiculous level of energy, and ridiculously photogenic band members. Shooting them was some of the most fun I have had behind a camera… Unfortunately they only played a 20 minute set.

We The Kings, however, just didn’t do it for me. The crowd loved them, and they seemed to love the crowd, calling out to “all the sexy Aussie girls in the crowd” (all-ages gig, remember…). I’m sure they just go along with it to keep the fans keen on them… But yeah, music was a bit bland for my taste. I can honestly say that I can’t even remember what they sounded like, they had such little impact on me. That may just be because they weren’t anywhere near as easy to shoot as TNE, but let’s not get pedantic (yes I googled the definition and spelling).

Finally, Simple Plan. As I said, not a fan of their music, but they put on a very decent show, full credit for that. With each chorus, the photo pit started shaking from the crowd’s jumping. So full credit to the crowd also. Noone rocks out at a concert like teenagers. And yes, the band played their hits, whatever they are called. So if you like their music, or like live music with a good atmosphere, go see Simple Plan at an all-ages show.

3 thoughts on “Simple Plan, We The Kings, The Never Ever. Wollongong, Australia

Leave a Reply

